Website Owner Threatening Legal Action

Your experience of helping website owners
muhan_luo
Website Owner Threatening Legal Action

Post by muhan_luo » Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:33 pm

Hey everyone,

I recently reported a reflected XSS to a website owner. About a week later, I received an email threatening legal action. This person also apparently sent an email to Comcast to shut my internet down.
Subject: Criminal Activity

PLEASE SHUT DOWN THIS KIDS INTERNET ASAP!!!!

His keeps adding more bounty sites to his list

https://www.openbugbounty.org/researchers/muhan_luo/

[email protected]

This activity is not acceptable.
All I did was manually test for XSS. No automated tools like Nikto or Zap were used. This is my first time dealing with potential legal action for reporting a vulnerability. What should I do?

Muhan

GordSchramm

Re: Website Owner Threatening Legal Action

Post by GordSchramm » Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:53 am

muhan_luo wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:33 pm
Hey everyone,

I recently reported a reflected XSS to a website owner. About a week later, I received an email threatening legal action. This person also apparently sent an email to Comcast to shut my internet down.

[email protected]

All I did was manually test for XSS. No automated tools like Nikto or Zap were used. This is my first time dealing with potential legal action for reporting a vulnerability. What should I do?

Muhan
I wouldn't worry about it......nothing they can actually do to prove criminality.......if anything they could only attempt something against OBB......also don't believe threats......hope you are using a VPN when "bug hunting"......also how can they find out who your ISP (Comcast) is??

x1admin
Site Admin

Post by x1admin » Sat Mar 30, 2019 10:23 am

At first sight, the website seems to be insane. In most countries what you described is certainly not a crime (unless there are other malicious elements such as extortion for example, or usage of the XSS to spread malware).